Home » El Cerrito Council Member Elected League of California Cities Second Vice President

El Cerrito Council Member Elected League of California Cities Second Vice President

by CC News
El Cerrito

Sacramento — The League of California Cities Board of Directors elected El Cerrito Council Member Gabe Quinto to serve as the organization’s 2023-24 second vice president. Quinto was installed on Sept. 22 as part of the Cal Cities Annual Conference and Expo.

“As an active member of Cal Cities since 2015, I have had the honor of being part of an organization that has helped cities in the state of California on the most critical issues of our time,” said Council Member Quinto. “I look forward to further fostering positive change for California cities through our collaborative efforts.”

When Quinto began his first term on the El Cerrito City Council in 2014, he became El Cerrito’s first Filipino-American, and first LGBTQ Council Member. Quinto has prioritized equity and diversity in El Cerrito and on all the boards he’s served on over the years.

Quinto’s extensive involvement with Cal Cities includes past presidencies on its Asian Pacific Islander Caucus, LGBTQ Caucus, and East Bay Division, as well as committee roles in Equity, Diversity & Inclusion, Governance, and Environmental Policy.

“Gabe’s involvement in Cal Cities has been invaluable,” said League of California Cities Executive Director and CEO Carolyn Coleman. “His wealth of experience as a Council Member, Mayor, and regional leader in El Cerrito has greatly enriched our organization and I look forward to his growth as a statewide leader and contributions in the coming year.”

Quinto is active in several organizations, including Equality California and CivicWell. He also serves as a board member of A Wider Bridge.

This week, the Cal Cities Board of Directors also elected Fowler Mayor Daniel Parra to serve as president and Rancho Cucamonga Mayor Pro Tem Lynne Kennedy to serve as first vice president. Artesia Council Member Ali Sajjad Taj, who served as the 2022-23 president, became immediate past president.

Established in 1898, the League of California Cities is a nonprofit statewide association that advocates for cities with the state and federal governments and provides education and training services to elected and appointed city officials. Cal Cities’ mission is to expand and protect local control for cities through education and advocacy to enhance the quality of life for all Californians.

League of California Cities announces new board officers and directors

The board also elected six at-large directors who will serve a two-year term. These directors are:

  • Walter Allen III, Mayor, Covina
  • Andrew Chou, Mayor, Diamond Bar
  • Britt Huff, Mayor, Rolling Hills Estates
  • Lisa Middleton, Council Member, Palm Springs
  • Ana Maria Quintana, Vice Mayor, Bell
  • Cindy Silva, Mayor, Walnut Creek

The 2023-24 Cal Cities Board of Directors are:


  • President Daniel Parra, Mayor, Fowler
  • First Vice President Lynne Kennedy, Mayor Pro Tem, Rancho Cucamonga
  • Second Vice President Gabe Quinto, Council Member, El Cerrito
  • Immediate Past President Ali Sajjad Taj, Council Member, Artesia


  • Teresa Acosta, Council Member, Carlsbad – At-large
  • Ashleigh Aitken, Mayor, Anaheim – Large City
  • Walter Allen III, Mayor, Covina – At-large
  • Jan Arbuckle, Mayor, Grass Valley – At-large
  • Al Austin, Council Member, Long Beach – Large City Representative
  • Melanie Bagby, Council Member, Cloverdale – At-large
  • Karen Bass, Mayor, Los Angeles – Large City
  • Scott Bauer, Council Member, Eureka – Redwood Empire Division
  • LaTanya Bellow, Deputy City Manager, Berkeley – Personnel and Employee Relations Department
  • Priya Bhat-Patel, Mayor Pro Tem, Carlsbad – Women’s Caucus
  • James Bozajian, Council Member, Calabasas – Los Angeles County Division
  • London Breed, Mayor, San Francisco – Large City
  • Andrew Chou, Mayor, Diamond Bar – At-large
  • David Cohen, Council Member, San Jose – Large City Representative
  • Karen Comstock, Mayor Pro Tem, Chino – Inland Empire Division
  • Christine Dietrick, City Attorney, San Luis Obispo – City Attorneys Department
  • Alice Dowdin Calvillo, Mayor, Auburn – Sacramento Valley Division
  • Jerry Dyer, Mayor, Fresno – Large City
  • Neysa Fligor, Council Member, Los Altos – Peninsula Division
  • Edgard Garcia, Council Member, El Centro – Imperial County Division
  • Todd Gloria, Mayor, San Diego – Large City
  • Karen Goh, Mayor, Bakersfield – Large City
  • Marshall Goodman, Mayor Pro Tem, La Palma – At-large
  • Eric Guerra, Mayor Pro Tem, Sacramento – Large City Representative
  • Rene Guerrero, Director of Public Works, Pomona – Public works Department
  • Mike Healy, Council Member, Petaluma – North Bay Division
  • Britt Huff, Mayor, Rolling Hills Estates – At-large
  • Randi Johl, Legislative Director/City Clerk, Temecula – City Clerks Department
  • Dan Kalb, Council Member, Oakland – Large City Representative
  • Jim Lewis, City Manager, Atascadero – City Managers Department
  • Ray Marquez, Council Member, Chino Hills – At-large
  • Lisa Middleton, Council Member, Palm Springs – At-large
  • John Minto, Mayor, Santee – San Diego County Division
  • Scott Nassif, Mayor, Apple Valley – Desert Mountain Division
  • Eric Nelson, Planning Commissioner, Dana Point – Planning and Community Development Department
  • Kim Nguyen, Council Member, Garden Grove – Orange County Division
  • Lori Ogorchock, Council Member, Antioch – Mayors and Council Members Department
  • Jaime Patino, Council Member, Union City – At-large
  • Dave Potter, Mayor, Carmel – Monterey Bay Division
  • Ana Maria Quintana, Vice Mayor, Bell – At-large
  • Roberta Raper, Dir. Of Finance and Technology, West Sacramento – Fiscal Officers Department
  • Dana Reed, Council Member, Indian Wells – Riverside County Division
  • David Sander, Vice Mayor, Rancho Cordova – NLC
  • Cindy Silva, Mayor, Walnut Creek – At-large
  • Jeff Smith, Police Chief, Pismo Beach – Police Chiefs Department
  • Dan Stefano, Fire Chief, Costa Mesa – Fire Chiefs Department
  • Kuldip Thusu, Council Member, Dinuba – South San Joaquin Valley Division
  • Racquel Vasquez, Mayor, Lemon Grove – African American Caucus
  • Anna Velazquez, Mayor, Soledad – Latino Caucus
  • Malia Vella, Council Member, Alameda – API Caucus
  • Tyller Williamson, Mayor, Monterey – LGBTQ Caucus
  • Dan Wright, Council Member, Stockton – Central Valley Division


You may also like